3 languages, 6 governments and 53 ministers, Belgium has one the of the most complicated administrative system in Europe. But don’t worry, despite this muddle, it is easier than it seems.

Belgium is a constitutional monarchy, leading by the seventh king of the Belgians, Phillipe of Belgium who possesses a role of suggestion on the political actions. Brussels, is at the same time the capital of Europe and the capital of a federal state. Therefore, the country is composed of 3 autonomous entities acting equally and in an independent way :

The federal state :

This first entity concern the general interest of all the Belgians. It possesses thus a government composed has equal representation from french speaker and dutch speaker. The federal state is responsible for the common heritage : the justice, the army, the federal police, public debt, monetary politic, nuclear etc..

The communities :

they are 3 communities in Belgium, the french community, the Flemish community and the German speaking community. With an exception for the region of Brussels, where the Flemish and French communities have powers. Those areas correspond of the linguistic breakdown. they are responsible for the language, culture, education and the audiovisual sector.

The Regions :

At the same level as federal state and communities, the three Belgian regions possess their own government and parliament, fixed according to their territories. The territory of the flemish region corresponds to the Dutch linguistic region. The territory of the Walloon region corresponds to the french and german speaking linguistic region. Lastly, the territory of the Brussels-capital Regions corresponds to the bilingual region of Brussels.
All of them are responsible in their area for employment, the economy, the energies, the civil engineering, accommodation and transports.

Clément Hospital